Food photography shots…

by am109145

One of the most important things I have learnt so far whilst assisting Angus is that I should start with one or two lights within a studio and work with them to see if I can create the outcome that I want, when it comes to food photography. Angus also advised me on ‘get the worst product you can find in a supermarket and try and make it look good’. 

As I have a slot in the photography studio today I will be photographing two of the worst products/cakes that I could find in Sainsbury’s, the two entries being:

– Sainbury’s finest Almond slice cakes

– Sainsbury’s basic jam rolls.

In order to present these shots I worked with my art director Bhakti =). Below you can see the set up, props and lights that I used to create the scene and shoot the cakes in.

IMG_9788 IMG_9792 IMG_9790 IMG_9794 IMG_9787

THE OUTCOME: Out of the 45-60 shots that I took it turned out only two were appropriate to use after retouching:

DSC_2468 DSC_2487m

