May 6th Yearbook Portrait shoot – Project #5

by am109145

The shoot today went really well, in terms of the initial set up I had a few technical difficulties with the Metz flash – the cable itself that attaches from the flash to the camera seemed to be faulty and the plastic piece that slide onto the top of the camera also was not working properly. This set us back by around 15 minutes during the first session however BA Photography technician came to my rescue by replacing the cable and giving me a electronic head to connect the flash with my Nikon camera – HAPPY DAYS! 

So in total we managed to shoot 28 students within the 2 sessions on the friday and also 6 members of staff only leaving 2 students to sweep up on Tuesdays session to come. RESULT!!!

TO SEE THE FULL ALBUM PLEASE CLICK ON MY FLICKR LINK BELOW:

DSC_0499

 

Some edited shots from Fridays session:

DSC_0152 DSC_0221 DSC_0343 DSC_0365 DSC_0490 DSC_0535 DSC_0599

 

QUICK FEEDBACK/REFLECTION OF THE SHOOT:

SO SO SO SO SO MUCH FUN! The third years were brilliant today! I could really see the characteristics of each individual come out during the shoot and the props, faces and weird things that they did to represent themselves were pretty epic! Some crazy and interesting personalities within the year and its ashamed it took me this long to get to know them =( 2 weeks before they have to leave to graduate!

In terms of directing all I had to do really was to explain to them that it was for the yearbook and that they should strike a pose that reflected there personality and that they would want fellow peers would want them to remember them by! In terms of equipment for my I had to use a studio chair to stand on (which was slightly dangerous) to shoot some of the taller lads so I could get a eye level shot so maybe next time consider some sort of suitable ladder appropriate thats a little safer!

