Possible Avenues for live project…

by am109145

Initial research into Live brief

When initially being briefed on the two sides to the live brief I immediately decided that i wanted to focus either on Photography or Illustration within this module. After having a general tutorial with Marianne and discussing the pro’s and con’s of both disciplines I decided it was best I continue down the Photography avenue. Not only do I feel that I can develop my photographic skills during this module I also feel that I can apply a lot of what I have learnt during Visual Literacy.

So here’s some initial brief ideas that I have researched:

1) KOMONO LOMOGRAPHY CONCEPTION OF TIME

A quick summary of the brief itself : To produce a set of images that portray your conception of time.

THE PROBLEM WITH THIS BRIEF: The actual images themselves have to be taken in a film format using  lomography camera, The problem here not being I don’t have a lomography camera (as I have many), the problem being I think I want to defiantly concentrate moreso on digital photography- however what an brilliant brief if digital was aloud!

Screen Shot 2014-03-04 at 16.00.19

Screen Shot 2014-03-04 at 16.00.26

Screen Shot 2014-03-04 at 16.00.39

 

2) OH COMELY COMPETITION 

Brief summary of the brief: To create a photographic story with a item of clothing, almost the journey of the item of clothing

PROBLEM WITH THIS BRIEF: I guess the only problem with this live brief is that the deadline date is far to soon!

Screen Shot 2014-03-04 at 16.35.22 Screen Shot 2014-03-04 at 16.35.30

 

3) DANDAD 2014 

A brief summary of the brief =: To create a story which illustrates the history of the record label XL records from the past to the current day in order to celebrate the artist and the history of this record label.

I think that this sounds pretty good, I think the response to this brief will be incredibly high as it’s on D&AD, however I don’t want this to be the reason it puts me off the actual brief. I think one of the big issues with taking this on initially is that it requires a lot of research beforehand and in the space of time that I have from now up until the deadline is very minimal, therefore maybe resulting in a poorer outcome as to what I could produce if I have enough time/seen this a lot earlier.

Screen Shot 2014-03-04 at 16.42.54

 

Along with the three examples above I have stumbled across many other briefs that I could possibly pursuer that spark my interest however I think its safe to say that the three shown above are have deadlines that are far to soon for me to produce something substantial.

