Printing & mounting…

by am109145

Once editing my final images on Photoshop I then took my files down to the digital print room ready for output. I took some A3 thin card down with me to print on but soon realised after one test print that this paper seemed to absorb the ink far to much and left a tinted green shade over my images.

Output decision: I then decided to use the print paper that James has and the quality of the finish was comparable to the previous test print.

Once outputting all of my images I then took these A3 prints to the studio and decided that foam board would be the best material to mount the prints on in preparation for the exhibition. After David showed me how to mount onto foam board in the correct manner I mounted all my prints within a 2 hour time frame. Below is the process in visual pictures to document the learning process of mounting (another skill I seemed to take away form this module).

FOAM BOARD MOUNTING TECHNIQUE:

IMG_5688

1. Cut the excessive card from the around the edges off- leave a sufficient 2cm border.

IMG_5685

 

2. Baring in mind a 8 stroke surface area apply the spray mount to the print generously.

IMG_5687

 

3.Apply print onto foam board avoiding all bubbles.

IMG_5689

4. Pressing down heavily using all strength possible hold the ruler and use a scalpel to make one through-cut (no going back and forth). Cut around all for edges so the remaining white boarder is cut away.

IMG_5694

 

5. Expect a smooth edge professional looking finish.

ALL PRINTS MOUNTED AND READY:

IMG_5692

 

