Looking at ‘Humans of New York’…

by am109145

As suggested in my tutorial by one of my peers when asking how to develop and progress with the idea I have generated one of them suggested having a look at the page ‘Humans of New York’ on Facebook.

From looking at the page briefly on Facebook I have gained  sense that the photographer Brandon roams around the city of New York and takes photographs  ‘to create an exhaustive catalogue of the city’s inhabitants’. In essence his photography is a depiction of all the weird and wonderful objects and people that New York has to offer.

Screen Shot 2013-12-02 at 14.33.04

A short description of the way Brandon describes his photography to be…

Screen Shot 2013-12-02 at 14.34.36

He mentions ‘I started collecting quotes and short stories from the people I met, and began including these snippets alongside the photographs’ not only is there a visual depiction open for interoperation from the images but Brandon also decides to include short quotes and stories as mentioned above for his audience to almost hear the voice of the habitants of New York.

Some images that I enjoyed looking at of brandon’s work in New York:

https://www.facebook.com/humansofnewyork?fref=ts

Screen Shot 2013-12-02 at 14.47.49Screen Shot 2013-12-02 at 14.51.26Screen Shot 2013-12-02 at 14.51.11Screen Shot 2013-12-02 at 14.47.18Screen Shot 2013-12-02 at 14.46.23Screen Shot 2013-12-02 at 14.49.06Screen Shot 2013-12-02 at 14.46.58Screen Shot 2013-12-02 at 14.49.13Screen Shot 2013-12-02 at 14.58.22

 

SIMILARITIES:

Comparing my concept/idea to Brandon’s it seems that we have a similar interest in terms of content and subject. I really like the way the captures the weird and wonderful personalities of the citizens of New York City, not only does it give a sense of the different types of characteristics New York is full of but it also gives a good sense of what different parts of the city look like. In terms of similarities I have listed some elements which I feel are consistent within my idea and Brandon’s work:

– Capturing portraits

– The idea of depicting somebodies personality

– The main focus being the person/subject everything else being out of focus

– Combination of poses that people strike (varied and mixed)

MOVING FORWARDS:

Although I do really like the concept of depicting personalities of citizen that live in my city I feel like the suggestion from my peers of doing this to develop my concept/idea completely drives away from my main purpose of representing the personalities of my fellows who are exhibiting in the exhibition through a set of images that I exhibit.

I feel as though the ‘Humans of New York’ page has motivated me to consider looking further into the asking my subjects how they would describe themselves in terms of there personality in the same way Brandon does as I feel this will give the images context HOWEVER this may take away the purely visual element of the image (maybe consider doing this and see how things pan out once moving forward).

In terms of the style of photography I feel that Brandon’s work is really interesting, the way in each he uses his camera is similar to the panful approach that I have taken so far, the images he has taken do not seem very technical likewise my images are not extensively technical.

